If you got in a car accident, this post contains a few things to reduce your stress and anxiety. Whether you have been seriously injured or not, a car accident attorney can help get you peace of mind.
How Long Do I Have To File A Lawsuit?
When a person has been injured in a car accident, they have four years to bring a lawsuit to recover medical expenses, pain and suffering damages, or other losses they experience. While most of these cases settle with the insurance companies, some do not. The best way to settle your case is to prepare as if you were going to court. Settlement is often preferable to court since most don’t have the resources to cover their losses while waiting for the court. An experienced car accident attorney can advise you on whether settlement or court is the best option.
What Does a Well-Prepared Case Look Like?
A well prepared personal injury case will have detailed medical records, police reports, pictures of damages, and a detailed narrative of life after the accident. In every claim for personal injury, you must be able to show damages. Damages are your losses; it can include your medical expenses directly related to the accident, lost wages, pain, and suffering. The goal of the law is to compensate you for your losses so that you are in as close to the same circumstances as you were before the accident.
However, Utah law does not allow a person to sue for personal injuries that result from a car accident if their damages are less than $3,000. The more details you have, the better you can communicate to the insurance company (or the court) what your actual damages are.
What Can I Do Now To Prepare My Case?
Something you can do to prepare for a car accident is to speak with your insurance company about PIP. (Personal Injury Protection). Utah law requires automobile drivers to carry $3,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
This PIP pays for the reasonable value of all expenses necessary. This covers medical services, lost wages, and other expenses related to your accident regardless of who is at fault. You may want to consider raising that coverage to at least $10,000 because even settlements can take several months. Most healthcare providers will not suspend payment of bills during this period. You are still responsible for paying your medical bills and a larger PIP benefit may help ease the burden of paying those bills.